To Write Or Not To Write

When is a writer no longer a writer?

Can life really beat the writer out of a person?

If one stops writing, does that mean the end for the writer?

I think if you’ve been a writer for so many years, it is possible you could feel there is no more stories within to share with the world.   What happens then?  Do you contemplate “retirement” as I’m sure many have done?  Or, rather, just take a break and pursue another creative endeavor?

In my personal experience, I took a seven-year “break” from writing for various reasons.  In the end, I found that I needed to be a writer in order to truly live.  I needed to write in order to battle the internal demons that kept haunting me.  For me, writing was the only way to make sense of this thing called life (as well as death which plagued me since I was a girl).

I believe a writer is always a writer.  You can stop writing for a while, but you can’t stop  forever.  An event, or a person, or a memory will suddenly trigger the creative hunger that had lied dormant, and you find that you must write or risk insanity.  Or, worse.

Okay, okay…writers are pretty much considered crazy or odd anyway.  How much worse could we possibly get???

Only you can answer that.

An incurable itch for scribbling takes possession of many, and grows inveterate in their insane breasts.  ~Juvenal, Satires

Being an author is being in charge of your own personal insane asylum.  ~Terri Guillemets

A writer is somebody for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.  ~Thomas Mann, Essays of Three Decades, 1947

 
One thought on “To Write Or Not To Write

Love to Hear from You!

