Three Reasons To Write Short Fiction

writing life

To be an apprentice to the craft of writing is a life-long endeavor.  Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.  I discovered writing at the age of eleven; since then I’ve continued to learn new things about it, and about myself.  Even at my age, I’m still trying to figure out what kind of a writer I am.

There are writers out there who know exactly who they are, and what they’re meant to write.  There are others though that are still searching for their true calling as writers.  I’m one of them.  The only thing I’m certain of is that I want to help others through the written word.

I’m currently struggling to write anything longer than short fiction.  I’ve tried to write novel-length stories for the past several years, and so far, I’ve only managed to complete a draft of one book (thanks to NaNoWriMo).  That was back in 2008.  I find it easier to finish shorter works whether they be fiction, essay, or a poem.  So, does that mean I’m meant to be a short fiction writer (or an essayist, or even a poet) rather than a novelist?

Who knows!

Right now, I’m going to concentrate on writing short fiction (for 2015 especially) and see where it takes me.  Here are my reasons for doing so:

1. My current lifestyle makes it difficult to focus on anything longer

2. I need to further hone my writing skills

3. I’m still figuring out which “niche” I should write in

2015 is looking to be a year full of changes for me.  I will elaborate on them in later posts.  These changes could be what will finally help me as a writer to get to that next level; whatever that may be.

Stay tuned!

Love to Hear from You!

