New Road

IMG_20150728_145131

Journey

from the green mountains
to the golden, lush prairie
the road continues

(first posted on April 30th, 2015)

kr

kr

My previous life in North Carolina feels just like that-as something that happened in a previous life. Almost everything about North Dakota is a stark contrast to North Carolina. And that for me is a breath of fresh air. Here, I’m finally able to breathe while back in North Carolina I felt like I was suffocating.

North Carolina is a beautiful state. It has the best of both worlds: mountains and ocean. But, it also has way too many people. For us anyway. Both hubby and I grew up in small towns-he in rural Allegheny County of New York and me in a village nestled in the valley of the Adirondack Mountains.

So many people have asked me-why North Dakota?

IMG_20150728_144553

Back in February the answer would have been-it’s because my husband got a federal job there. Now, after spending over two months here, I have no single answer to the question.

The weather is beautiful here (even though I’ve yet to spend a winter here so check again with me sometime next year to see if I change my mind). The people are down-to-earth, hard-working, family oriented, with morals and values you would have found decades ago but now growing unfortunately rare. Kids can still run and play outside without parents having to worry about predators (if you know what I mean). My son can finally be a kid and have fun; something he rarely experienced back in North Carolina.

It is wide open here. And I’m loving it. But North Dakota is not entirely flat as people may believe. There are so many different types of terrains here, I am continuously amazed and filled with wonder by the beauty of them all. In time, I hope to share them with you so you may see as well.

Changes can be good. Going from a small house in a subdivision to a 14-acre farmstead way out in the country has been a big change for us; and so far, that’s been a very good thing. Here, I’m hoping to reclaim some of my dreams that I gave up years ago.

Here, on this road, is a new beginning. A brand new journey. I’m ready to start the trek and see where it leads me.

I hope you’ll travel along with me as well.

One thought on “New Road

  1. If the film ‘Fargo’ is anything to go by, you are in for a hard time during winter. Then again, even snow has its beauty, if you have a 4-wheel drive car, and good heating. I have never been to America, but it seems that you have made a good choice, to get out of the rat race, and breathe some good air.
    Thanks for liking my post.
    Best wishes from England. Pete.

    Like

Love to Hear from You!

