Are You On a Hero’s Journey?

The basis of the Hero’s Journey, the overarching theme is: Transformation.

This could be applied both in fiction and in real life.

I’ve read that there are multiple stages one needs to go through to  complete the process, and while I agree with most of them, I don’t think they could be applied to all stories; especially in real life.

Why do I say that?

Not everyone completes the hero’s journey.  There are some of us who remains stagnate; stuck in a rut, or in one place.

No growth is taking place.

This could also be called a Tragedy.

I believe that most writers would love to think themselves as “heroes.”  No one wants to be remembered as a coward, or some poor tragic soul who fell short of realizing dreams and aspirations.

As I’m approaching my mid-40s, I’m growing increasingly afraid of ending up like that tragic soul.  Perhaps I’m being narrow-minded, or tunnel-visioned, but I feel like I’m missing out on something crucial on my journey as a writer, and as a person.  This whole past year I felt like I’ve had no growth as a writer.  Granted, things have been a bit crazy with the move and all.

Now that we’re in yet another new year, I’m experiencing this growing sense that time is running short.  I really hate that feeling.  I get it every year; especially the past few years.

Or, maybe I’m just being too hyper-aware of everything.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Are You On a Hero’s Journey?

  1. You’re doing great, lady! Nowhere near a tragedy. 😉

    To me the hero’s journey is always about confronting and overcoming one’s biggest fears. It sure has for me, and it does in every story I can think of. So whatever scares you most … do that thing next. No delays. no excuses. Most of us are continually running from the thing we most want to do because we somehow convince ourselves we can’t — because it’s safer. it’s a self-defense mechanism. I know I sure do this!

    Doing what you fear is doing the most heroic thing you can EVER do. And that means you win at this thing called the hero’s journey.

    Which makes you a hero.

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Hugs and much love in the new year!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lisa, as always, thank you for your kind and encouraging words 🙂 This is something I seem to struggle with…perhaps it’s my lack of confidence in myself, or like you said, some kind of a self defense mechanism…either way, I’m starting to get real tired of constantly dealing with it. I think my next step is identifying exactly what I am so fearful of, and then taking action. 🙂

    Like

  3. I think of us more as explorers. There’s something of the hero in that, yes, but never any certainty if we’re going to discover the grand vistas or the empty wastes. Your self analysis, your fears, these too are places of discovery – long climbs up the steep and rocky slopes, or the slides down into the deep dark pits of depression, all valuable places in the voyage of self discovery. It’s our journey and the person most healed by it is always going to be us. Failure is simply losing the ability to put one foot in front of the other. We hunker down when night falls, but move on again with every fresh dawn.

    Best wishes

    Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you, Michael! Your words and insight are incredibly helpful to me 🙂 I love the thought of being an explorer in this thing called life. I tend to fall, several times, in to the “pits of depression,” but somehow, I seem to find my way out of them, mostly due to people like you! Thank you so much for stopping by!

    Like

Love to Hear from You!

