Should All Artists Have a Manifesto?

Yes?   No?

Tough question, huh?

What is a manifesto?  If you asked me this a year ago, I wouldn’t have been able to give an answer.  I’ve heard of the word; just never knew exactly what it was.

So, what is it?

Simply, a manifesto is something you share with the public, or with your audience, about who you are, where you stand, and why you’re taking this particular stance.  It could be as short as a statement, or as long as a book.  (For writers, this article is a great read on how to write your manifesto)

I discovered my love for writing in 5th grade but didn’t have my first story published until 2007; I’ve been blogging in a somewhat serious manner since 2012-but, I’ve never wrote a manifesto about what makes me tick as a writer, or about what challenges me or even what threatens my calling as a writer.

Until now.

Yesterday, I published my (short and sweet) manifesto under About This Blog called: Your Art Matters Regardless of Your Flaws.

My answer to above question?

Yes, I believe all artists should have a manifesto!

 

What about you? 

 

One thought on “Should All Artists Have a Manifesto?

Love to Hear from You!

