Writing: Looking Way Ahead

Click on the image to access this group's official page

Click on the image to access this group’s official page

The question for December: In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now, and what’s your plan to get there?

Wow, my first month with the group and they just had to ask this question.  What is a writing career?  I have always considered a career as something you get paid for while you pursue a passion or an occupational path which leads to promotions and higher pay grades.

I have hung up that “hat” in January 2015.  You see, I have a progressive disability called Usher Syndrome (where I’m slowly losing my vision coupled with moderate hearing loss); and because of this, I “retired” and went on Social Security.  And because I receive the SS disability benefits, I’m not to earn an income.

I’m only 45.

And believe me, I still have lots to live for!

So, back to the question.

In order to clear my conscience and help me figure out my answer, I consulted a dictionary and here what it had to say about the word, career:

“An occupation or profession, especially one requiring special training, followed as one’s lifework.”

Hmm, still having trouble with applying this word to my situation.  Let’s see what else I can find.

“I’ve learned that making a ‘living’ is not the same thing as ‘making a life’.”-Maya Angelou

That’s it!  A writing career to me isn’t about “making a living” but “making a life.”

Now that I’m feeling better about things, let’s move on.

For the first part of the question: In terms of your writing career, where do you see yourself five years from now?

Though I’ve been regularly writing and publishing (short stuff) since 2007, I still haven’t found that niche. I desire to have a book of some sort traditionally published in five years, but whether it’ll be the fiction or nonfiction sort, I haven’t a clue.  I have dabbled in all forms and nearly all genres, and I’m still in the dark.

Does this mean I should try to be one of those multi-genre/format kind of writer?

Or, should I continue to try and narrow down the area or areas of “expertise” for myself?

I’m starting to wonder if maybe I need to find a mentor to help guide me on this journey.

Sheesh, I’m all over the place.  See what you did, IWSG?  😉

On to the second part of the question: what’s your plan to get there?

At this juncture, I plan to continue what I’m currently doing: craft the kind of fictional stories that I’d want to read, and then find a home for them; plus write micropoems and essays about my various life experiences (have been dealt with a lot of losses that I’m still trying to work through).

Whew.

Survived this one.

What about you?  Where do you see yourself, as a writer, in five years?

 

 

14 thoughts on “Writing: Looking Way Ahead

  1. I didn’t realize it until much later, but those early years of writing and being rejected were my “training.” Add to that the many RWA workshops I attended as a member…better than any college. These days, you can get a similar education through reading blogs and researching online. So you are in training for your future career right this very second!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love the quote from Maya Angelo. And I’m the same in not having found a genre to stick to. Have a mythic fiction WIP I’m working on. And an urban fiction and now my fist adult romance. Also have files filled with story ideas from different genres. And I think it’s okay to stick to one or write in multiple genres. Just keep writing what you want to read.
    “I write across several genres. I’m a slit for words. I can’t keep it in my literary pants.”- Fierce Dolan

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lidy, for your words of encouragement and insight! It took me a long time (and many “failed” stories) to realize that I should write for me first and not for everyone else (although that may work for others). 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow, I am enjoying writing and have found myself drawn to the fantasy genre but as obvious as the question is, I’d hate to be asked it. I just never know what to say in such a situation, I guess I hope to have some success with my writing – but whether that success is being published, or personal (as in developing my craft) is hard to say, plus I hate mapping out my life. Too much planning and I’ll never do the tasks to get there, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Planning tends to create stress (at least it does for me, at times); and like you, I’m not always successful in completing those plans. And that tends to create frustration. Sometimes it’s better to just enjoy the journey as a writer, creating worlds and characters, and see where it takes you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Love to Hear from You!

