What Will I Write (in 2017)?

Click on the image to access this group's official page

Click on the image to access this group’s official page


*This post is written for this month’s BlogHop for The Insecure Writer’s Support Group.

what-year-is-this

For many I’m sure that the New Year is to be celebrated.

For me?

It’s a time when I tend to freak out.

I’m getting ready to start the second half of my forties, and with each New Year that passes, the ticking clock grows louder.

Throughout my life, I have experienced variety of losses.  And because I am acutely aware just how short life really is, I can’t help but to feel that I’m somehow missing my calling.

A calling to what???

That question has haunted me for many years; and, I’m no closer to the answer now than I was a year ago.

There are clues though.

I’m certain it has something to do with writing, and with helping people.

But, that’s all I know.

I keep writing stuff, but I’m hopping from one form and genre to the next with no idea of which area should be my specialty or niche.

I’ve opened my blog to try and help struggling and/or new writers gain more exposure but feel I should be doing more.

But, what?

clock-animated-gif-18

Now, I’m looking at yet another New Year.

And I’m really freaking out.

What should be my writing goals?

What should I be focusing on that will bring me closer to whatever my calling is?

Is there any point in trying?

which-direction

8 thoughts on “What Will I Write (in 2017)?

  1. Love your blog 🙂 I can totally relate to this post because I’m currently trying to figure out what I want to write in 2017. Here’s to a good year of writing! Subscribed to you too.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Which genre excites you? If you can only write in one genre forever, what would it be? It doesn’t have to be as stringent as that, but it’s a place to start. Learn everything you can about that genre, practice writing it, and if it doesn’t work out, try something new until you’ve found what you really like. Cross-over genres exist too 😉 As for jumping from form to form: there’s a lot that writing flash fiction can teach you about writing a novel (and so do all the other forms of story). Happy writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m write there with you Carrie. Now that it’s 2017 it’s really hitting me that it’s 2017. In 1997 (was in highschool) we painted a mural of fashions throughout time. And drew space age clothes for the 2000. That was as much thought I gave to the 2000s. Now I have a family and two children and only 3 years away from the second decade of the 2000s. Where did the time go? And will I have the time to write everything I want to write. It’s mind boggling and it can get overwhelming. Best thing to do is also the simplest, just put one foot forward. Or in our case, one word. Don’t worry too much about finding your niche as not everyone remains to just one particular genre. Focus on writing what makes you happy, one day at a time. (have to remember this one myself too).
    Happy 2017!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel you. (And I’m entering the second half of my forties this year, too). I wish there were shortcuts to know we were choosing the right thing to spend our hearts on, but you can only find out by trying something and seeing if it works. May your grand experiment be a success this year! @mirymom1 from
    Balancing Act

    Liked by 1 person

Love to Hear from You!

