Too Much Time On Hand=Lack of Focus

Photo Credit: wastedwriters.com

Photo Credit: wastedwriters.com

 

A few weeks ago I blogged about having too many creative ideas, but with no clear direction to take.

This past week, depression settled in as well two severe migraine attacks sapped the energy to do anything out of me.

It’s been a long winter thus far.  I’ve been pretty much house-bound since late November, and it is starting to wear me down.

For those of you who may not know, I “retired” from the workforce two years ago (I’m only 46) due to a progressive disability (Usher Syndrome).  Because of this disability, I’m unable to drive.    We moved to a rural area north of Grand Forks, North Dakota.  Rural in that I am at least 15 miles from the closest town, and closest neighbor over a mile away.  There is public transportation which I use on a weekly basis so that’s been good.  But with no friends or church (yet), I’ve been pretty isolated and alone most of the time (outside my family).

I hope to change this once Spring finally arrives.

Anyhoo, with all this “free” time on hand, believe it or not, I have NOT been very productive with ANYTHING.  In fact, I got more things (including writing) done back when I was working full-time.

Funny.  When I worked, I used to dream about being home and writing full-time.  Now that I’m in that situation, I’m finding it difficult to focus.

Anyone have this experience?

I’m wondering if I set up a schedule, would I stick to it?

Bottom line, I’ve noticed a trend since I left the workforce, and it’s disturbing as I really don’t want to admit it.

I lack self-discipline.

There, I said it.

Whew…

Now, just need to figure out the accountability part.

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Too Much Time On Hand=Lack of Focus

  1. I don’t think this is unusual at all. One of my favorite quotes is from Lucille Ball, who said (I’m paraphrasing) “If you want something done, give it to a busy person.” Or, to state it another way, “The more you have to do the more you can do.”

    I know exactly what you’re talking about. I find I get more writing done on the days when my schedule is jam-packed than on the days when I have nothing in particular scheduled. Weird, isn’t it?

    Instead of creating a schedule for myself, I try to set goals; for example, 1,000 words or 2,000 words. Do you think that might work for you?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can certainly see it being an issue; with many options, where does one start? Doesn’t help that humans aren’t great at multitasking. Something else to consider is the time of year (which you seem to be)… the days are short, the weather tends to keep us inside (long walks can be inspiring) and plus the political climate is all over the place. Hard to focus with that.

    Maybe what you need is deadlines? I’m a teacher, and I do have productive writing periods in the summer, partly because I know that come September, time’s up. That said, I’m taking a year off, and am starting to feel less productive now, as compared to the last six months. Part of that time when I was still going, I was involved in NaNoWriMo – perhaps writing communities online might help too? (I see by your blog that you also participated.) And serials by their nature have deadlines in them, not sure if that would be motivation.

    As far as accountability goes, I’ve been making weekly posts to my personal blog, itemizing all the items that I should get to. I am pretty sure nobody reads them but me and the bots, but it has gotten me to get through some items in the past week, in part because I don’t want to have to put them on the list again next week. Either way, all the best with your efforts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Deadlines tend to be a more effective way to get things done, but they also add more stress and anxiety and I have anxiety issues so I try to limit the number of deadlines. I’m leaning towards setting daily/weekly goals, and I like your idea about blogging the goals as an accountability tool. I wish you well on your year off 🙂

      Like

Love to Hear from You!

