Writing: 3 Reasons Why I’m in Camp For April

 

April is generally a busy month for writers with NaJoWriMo, NaPoWriMo and CampNaNoWriMo.  In the past, I participated mainly in NaPoWriMo; but this year I decided to do CampNaNoWriMo.

Why?

I have mainly three reasons:

  1.  Being a stay-at-home Mom, I have lots of difficulty with set writing schedules; however,   I found that setting an overall monthly goal works better for me, and CampNaNoWriMo fits that agenda perfectly.
  2.  I discovered writing serial fiction was much more enjoyable than writing novels (I can explain my reasons in another post if you’re interested-just let me know! 🙂 ).  A current serial I began back in December stalled due to busyness that goes with family-life.  I’m looking to Camp to help jump-start it.  I’ve set a word-count goal for the month at 10,000 which should give me the spark I need.
  3.  Community.  I crave connection with other writers, and Camp gives it to me.  Each participant is assigned to a cabin with other fellow Campers where we announce our goals; from there, our cabin mates encourage and support one another as we each  try to achieve those goals.

What about you?  Are you participating in any of these mentioned above?

3 thoughts on “Writing: 3 Reasons Why I’m in Camp For April

  1. I’m doing NaPoWriMo this year. It’s been a while since I did the challenge and already I’m behind. Have to catch up edit days 2-5.
    Never did camp during April because it’s a busy month for me but did try camping in July a few years ago. It was a total busy because my charger fused out on me (I saw sparks). And had no other access to a computer to keep up with my camp goals. Thinking about trying camp again this summer because I always go on a blogging break after May because poetry month drains me out.

    Like

Love to Hear from You!

