What Does Writer’s Block Mean For Me?

Click on the image to access this group’s official page

 

It’s that time of month again 🙂  The question for April is: what does writer’s block mean for me? 

First of all, let’s define this term.  Dictionary.com defines writer’s block as “a usually temporary condition in which a writer finds it impossible to proceed with the writing of a novel, play, or other work.”

Writer’s block means different things to writers.   Some writers know exactly what’s causing their condition; others have no clue.  Either way, it’s a distressing feeling NOT being able to create.  In many cases the more frustrated one feels, the worse this condition becomes.  And If you have no idea what is causing this creative blockage, it can last for months or even years.

Yeah, distressing.

It took me a long while to put names to what cause the writer’s block in me.  There are three that come to pester me from time to time:

  1. Procrastination: This is by far the most common one for me.  They should probably create a professional procrastinator field because I would easily excel at it.  I just love putting things off.  You can call me laid-back, or just plain lazy—it means the same to me.  Things eventually get done, but it’s usually at the last possible moment.  Nothing like a little stress to keep the blood pumping hard, eh?
  2. Distractions: Most of my distractions come via the internet like Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest as well as YouTube, Pandora, Hulu and Netflix.  The others are the mundane house chores, paying bills and balancing the check book…you know, life in general.  I call these my distractions because they are just that since they keep me from writing.
  3. Mental Disturbances: aka depression and anxiety.  There are so many layers to these so I don’t even know where to begin.  Depression is like having darkness filling your inner most being and thoughts ’till you don’t care or have any energy to muster up anything creative.  Anxiety for me fills my mind with negative thoughts that I am inferior and can NOT produce anything of value so I don’t even try.

Well, that’s writer’s block for me in a nutshell.

What about you?

 

12 thoughts on “What Does Writer’s Block Mean For Me?

  1. I’ve found it difficult to write during times of distraction, but generally more serious ones than you list. I’d prefer to call them times of stress rather than distraction and it can be a challenge to get back to the page and when there, to actually focus on it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mental distraction is the big one for me. Right now, for example, I’m waiting on edits. I’m finding it hard to commit myself fully to any other projects while I wait for this feedback. Even though I have other projects waiting . . .

    @mirymom1 from
    Balancing Act

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Since mid-November I have been suffering from writer’s block. Actually…a creative block. For me, it was brought on by depression. I’m working through it. I haven’t started writing yet, so I still have “writer’s” block, but my creativity block is crumbling. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad to hear that your “creativity block” is starting to break down. Hope you start writing again soon! For me, getting to the other side of depression always make me feel I am seeing the world with new pair of eyes, if that makes any sense.

      Like

    • I think some writers, like us, tend to be more sensitive to our surrounding (as well as people) so it wouldn’t take much to distract us from our writing. It can get quite frustrating sometimes. You find yourself wondering if you’ll ever get any writing done.

      Like

Love to Hear from You!

